Ministry of Communications functions as a central policy making and administrative authority on Communications and Transport Sector in the Country. Ministry of Communications consists of one division Communications Division Please visit the web site of the communications Division for a more comprehensive and detailed information about its Policies, Publications, Information and Services, Forms, Tenders, Jobs, News & Press Releases, and Related Links.

Mission Statement

 Achieving National Cohesion and integration through development of sustainable communication infrastructure for Socio-economic uplift of the country by providing enabling environment to facilitate movement of people, goods and services in minimum time and cost. 


Functions of the Ministry

 The main objectives / functions of the Ministry of Communications are:

  • Prioritization  of development projects and operational activities according to  economic, social and strategic needs of the country.

  • Provide effective support to the economy.

  • Promote  international competitiveness of our exports and increase operational  effectiveness to meet challenges of globalization.

  • Integrate remote areas of the country into the economic mainstream.

  • Improve project monitoring and implementation.

  • Train and improve quality of human resources.

  • Enhance good governance through incentives and disciplinary action.

  • Improve values and ethics to build responsive organizations.

  • Provide safe and smooth travel on National Highways & Motorways.

  • Provide an efficient, reliable and speedy postal service matching the private sector courier services.

  • Carry out research on road engineering, building and management.

  • Modernize post and provide exemplary service to the public.

  • Open up unexplored areas through expanding national roads networks.


Organization of the Division

 The  Ministry of Communications consists of the main Ministry headed by a  Federal Secretary. It has been organized into 2 wings (namely)  Administration Wing headed by Joint Secretary-I and Roads & Road  Transport Wing headed by Joint Secretary-II. There are a number of  autonomous as well as attached / subordinate departments under the  Ministry. The existing staff strength of Ministry of Communications  (Main) is 198.

The Ministry of Communications exercise administrative control over the following Departments / Organizations: 

 i) National Transport Research Centre.
 ii) National Highway & Motorway Police
 iii) National Highway Authority
 iv) Construction Machinery Training Institute

Allocation of Business 

The Federal Government has allocated following business to the Ministry as per schedule-II of Rules of Business 1973.

1) National Planning, research and international aspects of road and road transport
2) National  highways and strategic roads; National Highway Council and Authority;  Administration of Central Road Fund and
Fund for Roads of National  Importance.
3) Mechanically propelled vehicles; Transport Advisory Council; Urban Road Transport Corporation.
4) Enemy Property.
5) National Highways and Motorway Police.