Transit Transport Framework Agreement (TTFA)

Transit Transport Framework Agreement (TTFA)


Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO), is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey for the purpose of promoting economic, technical and cultural cooperation among the Member States. Islamic State of Afghanistan, Azerbaijan Republic, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Turkey, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan are Member States.

Transit Transport Framework Agreement (TTFA) developed by ECO with the assistance of UNCTAD was signed by all ECO member countries except Uzbekistan in May 1998. TTFA is a broad based agreement with 8 Protocols approved by 3rd ECO Ministerial meeting on Transport & Communications held in Islamabad in April 2000, dealing with the road, rail and inland water transportation, motor vehicles including 3rd party policy insurance, custom control and ToR for Transit Transport Co-ordination Council (TTCC).

 Transit Transport Coordination Council (TTCC) has been established by the ECO Secretariat under the TTFA with the objective to keep liaison / coordination and monitoring for implementation of transit traffic among the member states. The main objective of TTFA is to provide access to land-locked countries in the ECO region. TTFA has been ratified by 8 member states of ECO namely; Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Iran, Kyrgyz Republic, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey. Pakistan had ratified the Agreement in December, 2000.


Ministry of Communications is the focal Ministry dealing with the matters of ECO in the Transport Sector. For effective implementation of TTFA, following auxiliary bodies have been established under the auspices of ECO Secretariat, Tehran to handle various issues and evolve a solid mechanism:


Legal Committee

Insurance Committee

Railways Committee

Road Committee